Land seizures set for train projects ease

Slider, Thailand 29 Sep 2017
Land seizures set for train projects ease

The cabinet has approved in principle six draft announcements by the Prime Minister’s Office concerning expropriation of land for three electric train projects.

The projects are the Pink Line from Khae Rai to Min Buri, the Yellow Line between Lat Phrao and Sam Rong in Samut Prakan, and the Orange Line linking the Thailand Cultural Centre to Min Buri.

The draft announcements were proposed by the Transport Ministry, according to Transport Minister Arkhom Termpittayapaisith.

The cabinet resolution, he said, would allow officials or those granted authority to occupy or use the expropriated property in line with the Land Expropriation Act 1987.

It would also allow them to capitalise on the property in accordance with the Procurement of Immovable Property for Public Transportation Enterprises Act 1997, he said.

Mr Arkhom said that only a small number of land owners, subject to expropriation, have yet to sign land reclamation deals with authorities.

The expropriated land would then be handed over to contractors to proceed with the electric train projects, the minister said.

Rithika Suparat, deputy governor of the Mass Rapid Transit Authority of Thailand (MRTA), said expropriated land along the eastern Orange Line has been gradually handed over to contractors.

As for the Pink and Yellow lines, where concession contracts are due to start in December, some land owners have already made land reclamation deals with officials.

The property would start being handed over to contractors from December onwards, he said.

Concessionaires have begun surveying the utilities along the routes, he added.

Of the six draft announcements, two of them concern the expropriation and use of land for mass public transport in connection with the Pink Line.

They cover Muang and Pak Kret districts of Nonthaburi, and Laksi, Bang Khen, Bung Kum, Kannayao and Min Buri districts of Bangkok.

Two other announcements involve the Yellow Line, which will cover Huai Khwang, Chatuchak, Wang Thonglang, Bang Kapi, Suan Luang, Prawet and Bang Na districts of Bangkok as well as Bang Phli and Muang districts of Samut Prakan.

The remaining two announcements concern the Orange Line, which will cover Bang Kapi, Suan Luang, Huai Khwang, Saphan Sung and Min Buri of Bangkok.

← UK's Waldeck bags BIM role for Hong Kong airport expansion AA Releases Detailed Funding Study for the Three-runway System →

Comments are closed